Technical support

Knowledgebase: Licencing
How can I delete a Key-File?
Article ID: KB45 email a link to this article

If you are a standalone user, it is sometimes necessary to delete the DESlock+ Key-File.

This may be required for the following reasons:

  • If you have forgotten your password to access DESlock+
  • If you have set up another machine with DESlock+ and generated a new Key-File but want the new machine's encryption to correspond to your existing one.
Warning
Deleting your key-file will delete your Encryption Keys. Ensure encrypted data has been decrypted before deleting your key-file.

 

To delete your Key-File, you will need to follow these steps:

Step 1

Ensure you are logged out of DESlock+. If you are logged in, then right-click the DESlock+ Icon in the Notification Area (also known as the System Tray) and select 'Logout'

 

Step 2

Right click on the DESlock+ Icon and select 'Key-File Utility'

 

Step 3

Select 'Backup and Reset Key-File to blank' and click 'Reset'

 

Step 4

Select the location of where you would like to backup your Key-File and click 'OK'

 

Step 5

A confirmation window will now be displayed confirming that you have backed up your Key-File to the specified path and that your Key-File has been reset to a blank state. Click 'OK'

 

From this point you will have the option of setting up a new Key-File or restoring your Key-File from one that you have previously saved. This can be on your current machine or from one of your other or previous machines.

If you need assistance setting up your key file, please follow the "Licencing" section of the following article KB124 - Getting started with DESlock+ (Installation and licencing)


Keywords: key-file, restore, wipe, reset, restart

We use cookies on our website to enhance your browsing experience. Read more