Technical support

Knowledgebase: Backup and Migration
How do I Backup or Migrate my Enterprise Server (v2.6.1 - v2.9.3)
Article ID: KB296 email a link to this article
 

The following article relates to using Enterprise Server versions 2.6.1 - 2.9.3

To backup or migrate your Server in version 2.10.10 or later, please refer to this article: How do I Backup or Migrate my Enterprise Server (v2.10.10 and later)

Enterprise Server Backup

The following guide will create a backup of all your Organisations:

Access the Control Panel from the initial management console logon page. Login to your Enterprise Server and click Control Panel.

 

Once you are in the control panel navigate to the Database & Backup tab and click the Create Backup button.

 

A box will now appear asking whether you would like to download the backup to a already determined location or would you like to download it through your browser. You can also set a password for the backup here. Once you are done, click the Create button and a backup will be taken.

 

Enterprise Server Restore

Important: If you are migrating from an existing Enterprise Server you should ensure that the original Enterprise Server is no longer running. Having two Enterprise Servers in existence using the same Proxy ID will cause a loss of update packets from the DESlock+ Cloud. You should stop and disable the DESlock+ Enterprise Server Console and DESlock+ Enterprise Server Service on the original server and ensure their Startup type is set to disabled.

Restoring an Enterprise Server is done via the setup wizard. Simply install the new version of the Enterprise Server as normal, but copy the backup file to the Enterprise Server folder before launching the setup wizard.

During the installation, the Enterprise Server folder will be created usually in the path as below:

C:\Program Files (x86)\DESlock+ Enterprise Server

This is where you should insert the esbackup.zip file generated from the original Enterprise Server you are attempting to move.

Once the installation is complete the following window will appear. At this point, insert the esbackup.zip file.

If this is done correctly, you should see the following page in the setup wizard.

If this window hasn't appeared, you should check that you have inserted the esbackup.zip file to the correct location, then press F5 to refresh the browser.

If you wish to restore from the backup file shown, then select the "Restore from this backup" option.

The wizard will then continue in restore mode, as shown below. In this mode, certain fields will be marked read only as they were set during the original installation of the Enterprise Server before the backup was made.

If the backup was created with a password. You will need to enter it as follows. If the password is validated, the restoration will continue.

THERE IS NO WAY TO COMPLETE THE RESTORE PROCESS IF THE BACKUP WAS MADE WITH A PASSWORD AND YOU DO NOT ENTER THE CORRECT PASSWORD.

 

Keywords: move migrate import export backing back up


We use cookies on our website to enhance your browsing experience. Read more