DESlock+ Support DESlock+ Support
Knowledgebase: Known Issues
Renaming a licensed user causes issues managing the licence
Article ID: KB191 email a link to this article

Attempting to rename a licensed user will result in the failure to rename the licence in the licensing server back-end. This results in the disassosciation of the user in the Enterprise Server with their licence and will result in subsequent problems managing that licence.

The symptoms you might experience are listed below.

Symptoms

In these examples we have a user called alice@example.com and rename the user to alice2@example.com

rename user interface

Deleting user

Attempts to delete the renamed user will result in the following error message being displayed.

Delete failure message

Generating new activation code

Note the Serial Number of the user's licence. In this case 800F6AA7.

User info

 

After a new activation code has been generated, the user will be re-licensed and they will receive a new Serial Number. This may be sequentially the next number, or may be larger still depending on any steps taken after the rename. In this case it has changed to 800F6AA8.

 

User info

 

Please note that this change will cause serious problems for any activated workstations. If the user has activated workstations then be prepared to take proactive measure to reactivate them as described at the bottom of this document.

Resync multi-user licence

Viewing the multi-user licence interface in the Enterprise Server after the rename operation, will show the user in the list of licences.

Licence interface 

 

If the licence is resynchronised by clicking the Resync button, both the old and renamed users will be shown in the list. 

 

Licence interface

 

Please note that this change will cause serious problems for any activated workstations. If the user has activated workstations then be prepared to take proactive measure to reactivate them as described at the bottom of this document.

To resolve the issue

If you have performed a licence resync, or generated a new activation code, then this will allow the possiblility for you to delete both of the users. You should delete both users and manually reactivate any workstations as per support.deslock.com/kb154

If you have not performed a licence resync or generated an activation code, then you can rename the user back to the previous name.

Recomendations

If you are using an affected version of the Enterprise Server, and you have an activated user for which you wish to change the email address, we recommend that you first deactivate the user, delete them and re-add them with the correct email address. You can then reactivate the user on any necessary workstations.

If the user is not activated, then delete the user and re-add them with the new address.

Affected versions

Issue not present 2.4.5 and earlier
Issue present 2.5.1 and 2.5.2
Issue resolved 2.5.3 and later

 

keywords: licenced, licensed


We use cookies on our website to enhance your browsing experience. Read more