Technical support

How do I prevent the 'activation required' dialog from being displayed? (Managed)
Article ID: KB185 email a link to this article
 

After installing a managed ESET Endpoint Encryption (EEE) client the Activation Required dialog will be displayed to any user of the system who has not performed the activation process.

It is possible to prevent this dialog from being displayed automatically using Workstation Policy.  This might be useful when a machine has multiple users but only some of which are using EEE.

 

To update the policy to hide this dialog follow the steps below:

  • Select the Workstations branch of the Organisation tree (or the team's policy if appropriate).
  • In the Front End Settings section of the policy select the Show Activation User Interface setting.
  • Click the Change Setting button.

  • The detailed view of the policy will be displayed.

  • Use the drop down control to change the setting to No.
  • Click the OK button.
  • This update will apply to client installs and registry setting files created from the server for new clients using this Workstation Policy.
  • If you already have activated workstations that need updating select them in the Workstations list and click the Update Policy button to update them with the new setting.

 

With the Show Activation Dialog setting set to No the user can still show the activation dialog and commence the activation process by right clicking the EEE notification icon and selecting Proxy Sync.


 

Keywords: activation required dialog workstation policy activation box


We use cookies on our website to enhance your browsing experience. Read more