Technical support

Knowledgebase
How do I recall a Full Disk Encryption command?
Article ID: KB79 email a link to this article
 

If you have issued a Full Disk Encryption command to a workstation, there is no automatic way to recall that command. However you can prevent the Full Disk Encryption process from being started by performing the following steps;

  • From the ESET Endpoint Encryption (EEE) Server, delete the workstation
  • Go to the Client machine and delete the registry key situated within the following location HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\DESlock\Client\CentralCtrl  ***
  • Restart the workstation
  • You will now need to re-activate the client machine with an EEE Server so that you can re-issue the FDE command with the correct parameters

The Full Disk encryption command will not be processed and will need to be re-issued if Full Disk encryption is required to take place on the workstation in question.

 

***N.B. When deleting the reg key, if the user cannot run regedit and you have to elevate regedit or run regedit as an administrator, HKEY_CURRENT_USER may not relate to the user currently logged in. In this eventuality you have to access the registry key via HKEY_USERS.

To do this

Open a command prompt and type:

wmic useraccount get name,sid

Get the user's SID and open that key under HKEY_USERS

Then navigate to HKEY_USERS\Software\DESlock\Client\CentralCtrl


We use cookies on our website to enhance your browsing experience. Read more