How do I modify workstation policy?
Workstation Policy can be used to control how Enterprise Server controlled workstations function. To modify the Workstation Policy settings follow the guide below.
Modifying the Workstation Policy
Updating Existing Users
If you make modifications to the Workstation Policy in the Enterprise Server, existing activated machines that have been affected by the change will show in the Enterprise Server with a red colour workstation icon and the status will display as Requires policy update.
This indicates that their workstation policy is now out of date and needs updating with the changes you have made.
In order to update these workstations with the new policy you will need to select them in the Workstations list then click the Update Policy button.
The machines icon colour will change to orange indicating the new policy has been sent. Once the new policy has been received the workstations icon will change back to blue in colour and the status will display as Normal.
Policy updates happen as part of the periodic check in process of clients with the Enterprise Server. If you require this process can be forced to happen immediately as detailed here: How do I manually synchronise the Enterprise Server and DESlock+ client?
It should be noted that only machines which have been activated by a user will appear in the Workstations list in order to be able to be updated in this way.
Updating workstations which have not activated
If the machine has not yet been activated or as an alternate method you can update the Workstation Policy of a machine by downloading a registry file for the system by selecting the Workstation Policy tab and then clicking the Download Settings File button. The registry file can be applied to the machine manually. If you use this route you should refresh the Enterprise Server record by following the steps here: I made changes to my client configuration, how do I update the Enterprise Servers record of this machine?
Updating future workstations
From this point on the workstation policy obtained when pushing the install will contain the new policy.
If you use the MSI package to install new clients then a new client install package can be downloaded containing the updated Workstation Policy by following the guide here: How do I download a merged install for installation on a Workstation?