Technical support

Knowledgebase
How to upgrade ESET Endpoint Encryption (managed)
Article ID: KB203 email a link to this article

This article refers to upgrading ESET Endpoint Encryption (EEE) which is managed by the EEE Server, for Standalone (unmanaged) clients please see this article:

KB209 - How to upgrade ESET Endpoint Encryption (standalone)

 

There are three methods in which you can upgrade the EEE clients.

Method 1

You can download a merged installer from the EEE Server and run the .MSI on the client machine. As the install is an MSI, it can be deployed manually, via GPO or any software distribution method.

For more info see: KB217 - How do I download a merged install for installation on a Workstation?

Method 2

You can configure the Auto Update Check Mode Workstation Policy to set your clients to:

  • Disable Auto Update for Workstations in the Team
  • Update Workstations in the Team to a specific EEE version
  • Set Workstations in the Team to automatically update to the latest version

If you choose to update to a specific version, or if you wish to change the update version at a later date, you will see the following dialog.

IMPORTANT: This list comes from the EEE Updater Server. This is unrelated to any versions of EEE that you have uploaded to your EEE Server.

When the Workstation Policy is set, the client will routinely check if the version specified is avaialble in their current language. If it is, it will offer the newer version to the User to install.

The end User will see the following instructions:

The User may Postpone the update for 10 minutes, 2 hours or 4 hours.

Once the User has chosen to upgrade, the client machine will restart automatically.

Method 3

If the client Workstation is available on the network and the EEE Server can see the machine, then you can remotely install the latest version using the Push Install feature. 

To initiate an update you should rescan the network. Ensure that the "Exclude machines that already appear in the Organisation" is unchecked. The default behaviour is to hide machines from this list that already appear in the Organisation, and thus which must already have DESlock+ installed. The process is the same as a normal Push Install.

KB109 - How do I send a push install of DESlock+?

Note:

If your client machines were installed with the Managed Uninstall mode or Optional Password, then this feature must be enabled when upgrading your current client version. Please see our article below for reference: 

KB319 - What is the Managed Uninstall Option?  

version requirements: 

The ability to remote uninstall and upgrade was added in Enterprise Server v2.5.5. 

keywords: managed upgrade deslock+ howto perform 


We use cookies on our website to enhance your browsing experience. Read more